Your Final Chance to Participate in an ACoN Study

[via]

[via]

If you’ve not participated in The University of Georgia‘s recent study of how parental communications affect adults, you’ve still a final chance.

Research project manager Valerie Coles emailed about giving adult children of narcissists (ACoNs) another opportunity to participate in the study. The short, simple survey will be open for participants up through June. (Bonus: Participants can enter their email address to get in a drawing for a $100 gift card.)

“The purpose of this study is to understand how parental communication impacts individuals once they are adults… This study is an assessment of a measure of parental narcissism. There is presently no published scale that measures parental narcissism behaviors from the perspective of the adult child. This study aims to further refine a measure of parental narcissism by targeting self-identified ‘Adult Children of Narcissists.'” (Dr. Jennifer Monahan and Valerie Coles)

In taking this survey, you participate in research about ACoNs, which, in the opinion of The Invisible Scar, is a very worthy reason for doing so. Not enough research has been done regarding adult survivors. This survey offers the opportunity to help raise awareness of ACoNs.

The researchers will be sharing the information with The Invisible Scar and other participating websites. And in turn, I’ll share the information with you.

Take the survey.

3 thoughts on “Your Final Chance to Participate in an ACoN Study

  1. For Science! Just after I found out that what out that what my father did has a specific name. It’s startling how similar all those stories are to my own, including very specific details.

    This made me think of how my siblings would answer these questions, tho. The two middle children are pretty non-confrontational sometimes, it’s probably my brother’s only flaw and my sister can be downright shy or stressed out. They reacted very differently than I or the second-youngest did. I hope mom can reighn him in enough so the youngest stays the enthusiastic, daring & outgoing six year old she is now – I’m anxious because she’s gonna start school, and that’s when I started getting treated really badly…

    But a hard yet important part of growing up, for me, has been disconnecting/disengaging from the idea that I have to ‘save’ my mother & siblings/ accept that this would be presumptuous of me.
    I only engaged with this in a systematic manner after it’s given me serious procrastination/self-motivation issues. It’s so humilliating, I feel so weak & childish for this, I’m supposed to be an adult…

    Like

    • Kendrix,

      The realization that this behavior has a name is a huge eye-opener for so many adults. “Ahh, so it’s a real thing? It wasn’t just my imagination? I wasn’t just being too sensitive?” No, it’s definitely a real thing.

      Perhaps the best way to bring this up with any siblings may be to discuss emotional child abuse as a concept at first then slowly introduce the idea that it has happened to you… and then have your siblings begin to put those pieces of the puzzle together.

      Be kind to yourself for realizing this as an adult… Most emotionally abused children don’t come to the realization until they are adults. It’s a huge step to make!

      Onward and upward.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.